The ritual of getting a couple’s Kundli matched has been going on since several generations in Hindu culture. It is given the utmost importance before marriages as it helps in predicting how well a couple’s marital life would turn out to be. 

Kundli matching has proven itself useful as well as essential for marriages that were arranged by family or friends and even for marriages that stemmed from the love between the two individuals. 

Performed by Vedic astrologers, the most prominently used method is the ‘Ashtakoota method.’ Though many believe that this is the only method used for Kundli matching, there are many other methods available, like Dashkoota method, Duodashkoot method, etc. 

This commonly used method contains eight varying aspects that possess different weight-age during Kundli matching. Also known as ‘Gunn Milan method,’ these points are often referred to as ‘Guna.’ There are about 36 gunas. To predict how a match is, these gunas are calculated. For any marriage to be a fulfilling one, the couple needs to receive at least 18 gunas. Those couples who have to endure the misfortune of scoring points lower than that are required to either reconsider the match or opt for various astrological remedies that can save them from any harmful effects. 

As the name suggests, ashtakoota method consists of eight aspects, i.e., ashta kootas. These eight kootas that focuses on the eight unique aspects of the personality are:

1) Varna.

2) Vashya.

3) Tara.

4) Maitri.

5) Gana.

6) Yoni.

7) Rashi.

8) Nadi.

As per the beliefs of Vedic astrology, we all are born under a Varna or better known as, status. This particular section is specifically divided into four parts, based on the Dharma-shastras. These four divisions of Hindus are Brahmins, Kshatriyas, Vaishya, and Shudras. It is has been believed that for any marriage to be a compatible one, the varna of the groom needs to be higher than the varna of the bride. If the varna of the groom and bride are on the same level can also be counted as a good match. This stems from the custom of the bride moving out of her house and into that of the groom’s. If the groom’s ‘status’ was lower than hers, she is likely to face trouble adjusting. 

Vashya is the koota that represents human emotions like attraction, desire, compassion, and respect that needs to be present between a couple. Any individual, based on their Janam Kundli, is categorised in any of the following five segments: Manav, Vanchar, Chatuspad, Jalchar, or Keet and based on which category they fall under, who will dominate the marital life is thus predicted. 

The third aspect is Tara which represents the luck that the couple would experience in their marital life. This aspect is calculated based on the position of the celestial bodies, especially the moon, in their Kundli. This aspect indicates the fate the couple has in store for them. It focuses on the adventures and the hurdles that might present themselves throughout the journey of the married couple.

Maitri is the fourth aspect. This koota is for scrutinising the bond that could be created between the two individual and their zodiac signs. This aspect is for evaluating the friendliness between the zodiacs and to judge if the couple would experience sufficient compatibility. If proper compatibility is present, there are high chances that any doshas that might be present can be nullified.

Gana is the next aspect which has its entire attention on the behavioural aspect of the individuals as a couple. This aspect consists of three different elements, namely Deva Gana, Manav Gana, and lastly, Rakshas Gana. As the names suggest, a person inclined towards ‘deva gana’ is humble, kind-hearted and reliable. While a person who is more inclined towards Rakshas Gana tend to have an aggressive nature and a couple with both the individuals of this Gana are likely to have constant conflicts their entire life. Thus this aspect tries to predict how well the behaviour of the individual will blend with that of their partner.

Yoni denotes the animal instincts that are present in an individual, according to the zodiac. This one is specifically predicting the physical intimacy and sexual desires between the couple.

Nadi is the eighth aspect. It represents the genes and health of the two individuals. Divided into three parts, namely, Vata, Pitta, and Kappa, this aspect is counted as the most important one. This koota is known to aid in predicting the possibility of an offspring and any complications that might follow.