The Vedic astrological system used by the pandits and astrologers, ashtakoot Guna Milan, helps
in suggesting the appropriate answers to the people who believe in astrology, especially related to
their marital life.
The key principle in the process of ashtakoot Guna Milan during the matching of kundalis, is the
details of the birth stars or nakshatras, moon charts as well as the moon sign of the couple.

The social class of the couple:

Social class in Sanskrit is known as Varna. This aspect helps in knowing the overall compatibility
between the couple. Each of the 12 zodiac signs are assigned to a certain Varna. The Varnas are
namely- Brahmins, Kshatriyas, Vaishyas and Shudras.
Brahmin: Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces
Kshatriya: Aries, Leo, Sagittarius
Vaishyas: Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn
Shudras: Gemini, Aquarius, Libra
The marriage between two partners with the same social class or Varna is considered to be very

Most dominant after marriage:

The Vasya aspect or koota helps in knowing the strength of each partner with which they can
keep a hold over the opposite partner.
Each zodiac belongs to either of the five categories of the Vasya koota.
The Chatushpada category consist of the first half of Capricorn, second half of Sagittarius, Aries
and Taurus.
In Manava category the native to be tested are first half of Sagittarius, Gemini, Libra, Virgo and
The Jalchar category consists of the second half of Capricorn, Cancer and Pisces.
The Vanchar category consists of Leo and the Keet category consists of Scorpio.
Overall destiny and wellbeing:
The aspect responsible for checking the overall destiny and wellbeing of the couple is the Tara
koota. This aspect divides the nakshatras into nine groups.
The nine groups of stars are- Janma Tara, Sampath Tara, Vibath Tara, Kshema Tara, Prathiyak
Tara, Vadhai Tara, Sathaka Tara, Maithra Tara and Parama Maithra Tara.

Sexual compatibility:

The koota responsible for checking the sexual compatibility between the partners is the Yoni
koota. This aspect it is further divided into fourteen categories under the names of animals.
Each of these animals portray the internal compatibility and sexual behavior between the bride
and groom.

Hereditary factor:

The element or Guna responsible for talking about how strong you and your partner’s
hereditary characteristics will be Nadi. It will also tell how your genes are and thus predict your
general health after marriage.
Kundali matching is simply incomplete without knowing about this factor and matching of Nadi
Guna. Your nerves along with the pulse rate are observed for this. Nerves transport blood,
which is ultimately responsible for genes.
Hereditary factor is also important to know about the future of your child and the genes that
will be transferred in him/her.

Heath of the couple after marriage:

Bhakoot Guna play a crucial role in order to talk about your health status after marriage. This
will be done by looking at the position of the Moon at the time of kundali matching.
The Moon has to go from the house of Aries to the house of Pisces. The Moon’s position at any
given time will tell how healthy you will be and will also determine your life period.
The position of the Moon in the bride’s as well as the groom’s kundali are seen in order to make
accurate and correct predictions about health.

Basic character traits:

The characteristics of the bride and the groom are predicted using Gana element. Three
divisions are made, namely, human, god and demons. According to this your and your partner’s
traits are predicted.
You should always be with someone who belongs to the same Gana as you. Such a match will
the perfect one. Your patience level, softness and aggression are predicted with the help of this
Guna only.

Understanding and compassion in a relationship:

Graha Maitri will talk about the trust and compassion between you and your significant other. It
will also show how willing you two are to make this relationship work.

This will tell how occasionally you two as a couple are successful in taking the correct decisions
without a lot of fights and misunderstandings.
The use of the zodiac signs is taken in order to check the understanding between the couple. You
two can either be friendly, neutral, or enemy with one another.