Significance of Gunas in Kundali Matching

Significance of Gunas in Kundali Matching

Indian culture is diverse and has still managed to
keep the centuries-old traditions intact. Hinduism
is one of those centuries-old religions which
carries with it an abundance of rituals and
traditions. According to Vedas, there is a myriad
of sanskaras in Hinduism, out of which 16
sanskaras are referred to as “Shodasha
Samskara” (rites). Of these 16, one of the
significant sanskaras is marriage. Concerning
marriage, the most vital part is Kundali Matching.
It is given utmost value in Hinduism. Hinduism is
not just a religion it is a culture in itself with a
diversity of traditions and customs. Marriages in
Hinduism are conducted based on the points
scored in Kundali Matching. This guna Milan
system is based on the Ashtakoot system. Now,

what do you understand by Gunas? What they
signify? Let’s have a read ahead.

1.Varna Koot (1 point)

It signifies the working of the match together
and their companionship. It calculates the varna
of natives. Varna is generally divided into 4,
known as Kshatriya, Shudra, Brahmins, and
Vaishya. It gives focus to chances of friction of
ego between the couple.

  1. Vaishya Koot (2 points)

It talks about the dominance level in the
partnership and the power play on the domestic
front. Astrologer says it is to gain an
understanding of who will be in the dominant
position in the home. Locals are categorized as
Manav, Vanchar, Chatuspad, Jalachar, and Keet.

Tara Koot (3 points

This is to ascertain the stars which were present at the time of the birth of the couple. The Tara are nine in number at the time of birth-









Ati Mitra

It signifies the luck factor between the duo and

4.Yoni Koot( 4 points)

Yoni indicates the most vital component of the
couple’s compatibility. It decides the sexual
companionship of the prospective Husband and
Wife concerning attractiveness. Every Nakshatra
signifies in the form of an animal. In case yoni
turned out to be similar, their marriage will be
auspicious.14 yonis are categorized in the form
of animal character which represents the traits of
a male or female.

  1. Marjarah( cat) 2. Simha (lion) 3.Ashwa(horse)
  2. Mesha (sheep) 5. Sarp (snake) 6. Gaja
    (Elephant) 7. Swah (dog) 8.Nakul (mongoose)
    9.Mushika (rat) 10.Nakul (mongoose) 11. Mriga
    (deer) 12. Gau(cow) 13.Mahisha(buffalo) 14.

5.Maitri Koot (5 points)

This match focuses on the behaviors, children’s
possibility, mental compatibility, and the nature
of the couple. It decides if the match will turn out
to be companion, foes, or neutral. For this,7
planets are given importance.

1. Chandra (moon)

  1. Budh (Mercury) 3. Surya (Sun) 4. Mangal
    (mars) 5. Shani (Saturn) 6. Shukra (venus) 7.
    Guru (Jupiter)

6.Gana Koot (6 points)

It talks about the nature between the bride and
groom. Their habits and behavior tell about the
gana they originate to. The gana is divided into 3
categories. 1. Dev Gana 2. Manushya Gana 3.
Rakshas Gana

  1. Bhakut Koot (7 points)

It compares the moon’s position in the charts
and decides if the bride and groom are going to have a successful married life considering all the
spheres. It talks of the possibility of happiness
and peace in the life of the bride and groom.
There are 12 zodiac signs- 1.Aries 2.Taurus 3.
Gemini 4. Cancer 5. Leo 6.Virgo 7. Libra
8.Scorpio 9. Sagittarius 10. Capricorn
11.Aquarius 12. Pisces. It indicates the emotional
compatibility and success in financial prospects
as well.

  1. Nadi Koot(8 points)

It is the most significant aspect of Kundali
matching. Nadi is given utmost importance by
Astrologers. It refers to the possibility of having
children and starting a family. The same Nadi of
the couple is believed to be inauspicious for
marriage. They may have a problem in having
children or the child may be born with a
disability. Nadi has maximum guns out of all the
gunas. The three Nadis are Aadi (Vata) Nadi,
Madhya (Pitta) Nadi, and Antya (Cuff) Nadi.