The Different Methods, Planets, and Houses in Kundali Matching


Since the Vedic ages, Kundali Matching has been a very important and prominent process in
marriage fixing between two individuals. India is a land of diverse cultures and rituals. Traditions
run deep in the roots and thus, most Indians were alien to the concept of love marriages and it
was often viewed as a taboo. Therefore, individuals were married in an arranged marriage
ceremony where the bride and groom’s parents or guardians would fix the marriage. Now, the
important question arises how to choose the perfect partner? That’s when the concept of
kundali matching came in. Kundali Matching is still prominent in today’s times and widely
followed by the Indian community. Although, this time it is also practiced before love marriages
take place so as to ensure the smooth functioning of the marriage by using astrological
remedies to get rid of negative doshas and yogas.

How is Kundali Matching done?

Kundali Matching is the most important ceremony that takes place to finalize a marriage. In the
case of arranged marriages, firstly the person getting married chooses a prospective bride or
groom. Modern times have made individuals free to voice their opinions on agreeing to the
marriage. Once both the bride, groom, and the parents or guardians of both sides agree to go
ahead with the marriage, kundali matching is done to check compatibility levels and if the
marriage is going to be successful. Both the couple Janam Kundalis are produced in front of an
astrologer. The Janam Kundalis is the birth or natal charts of both the individuals. It depicts the
position of planets and stars at the time of the birth of the native. These positions for various yogas
and doshas predict a lot about the individual. The two birth charts are then matched to see if
there is an auspicious match or if the match can lead to any kind of harm in the marriage.

What is One of the most prominent methods used in Kundali Matching?

 There are many ways for Kundali Matching to take place. One of the most important methods is
the North Indian Method or the Asthakoota Method, typically known as the Guna Milan Method.
In this method, the various kootas of the couple is matched and scores and points (guns) are
awarded respectively. There are a total of 36 points to be achieved. A score of 18 and above
depicts an auspicious match whereas a score of 17 and below indicates that there are certain
problems with the match. The Ashthakoota method checks many areas of compatibility that
include friendship compatibility, love and affection compatibility, horoscope compatibility,
nature and personality compatibility, mental compatibility, health compatibility, financial
prospects compatibility, and progeny compatibility among others.
What are the planets that are taken into consideration in Kundali Matching?
The Planets that are the most important in Kundali Matching are as follows:
 Sunt
 Moon
 Ketu (shadow planet)
 Rahu (shadow planet)
 Mars
 Mercury
 Venus
 Saturn
 Jupiter

Each of these planets influence specific areas of life like love, health, finance, karmic relations,
familial relations, masculinity, personality, etc.

The significance of different houses in kundali

There are 12 houses in total and all are taken into consideration during kundali matching. Here
are what each house depicts:
1st House- The 1st house depicts life and is considered to be the House of Self.
2nd House- The 2nd house depicts gain and is considered to be the House of Value
3rd House- The 3rd house depicts order and is considered to be the House of Sharing
4th House-The 4th house depicts parent and is considered to be the House of Home and Family
5th House- The 5th house depicts children and is considered to be the House of Pleasure
6th House-The 6th house depicts health and is considered to be the House of Health
7th House- The 7th house depicts spouse and is considered to be the House of Balance
8th House- The 8th house depicts death and is considered to be the House of Transformation
9th House- The 9th house depicts passage and is considered to be the House of Philosophy
10th House- The 10th house depicts Kingdom and is considered to be the House of Enterprise
11th House- The 11th house depicts Support and is considered to be the House of Blessings
12th House- The 12th house depicts rehabilitation and is considered to be the House of